Standards of Tesco Nurture

The standrads of Nurture hero

The Standard — Gold, Silver and Bronze
It is important to recognise the Nurture standard is consistent for growers all over the world, and it is set out in such a way to encourage continuous improvement.

Nurture consists of three levels Bronze, Silver and Gold. Through the close relationship built with our 15,000 growers they are continuously motivated to work towards and join our group of worldwide elite 'Gold Standard' growers as they reap the benefits of building sustainable businesses, commercially and environmentally.

Ethical Standards
In 1998 the Ethical Trading Initiative (ETI) was set up to bring together retailers, suppliers, trade unions and charities to agree, deliver and uphold acceptable common standards in the supply chain. We know that our customers want the assurance that the fruit and vegetables they buy are sourced from growers who they can trust.

Recognising our responsibility and importance of this initiative Tesco became one of the founding members, helping to shape and evolve the ethical standards of our growers over the years.

Working in partnership with the ETI we ensure our suppliers are annually risk assessed on ethical standards and worker welfare to ensure that all standards are achieved. Our dedicated technical team also visit suppliers to ensure continuous conformance. This is evaluated and monitored using SEDEX, the Supplier Ethical Data Exchange.

SEDEX is a system shared by many retailers enabling them to share data on labour practice in the supply chain and take action to improve their ethical performance.


Ways to shop

Look out for this basket to buy recipe ingredients.
Learn more  

Click here to shop  

Real Food Poll


Something went wrong Close popup